Stage Writes

The Official Stage Rights Blog

'Dear Evan Hansen' Wins 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album

Lin-Manuel Miranda also won a Grammy for Moana's "How Far I'll Go."

The Dear Evan Hansen Original Broadway Cast Recording earned the 2018 Grammy Award for Best Musical Theater Album January 28. The album was up against recordings of Come From Away and the 2017 revival of Hello, Dolly!.

Lin-Manuel Miranda

Lin-Manuel Miranda (Ga Fullner /

Sharing the win for Dear Evan Hansen are its original Tony-winning headliner Ben Platt, his co-stars Laura Dreyfuss, Mike Faist, Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Park, Will Roland, Jennifer Laura Thompson, and fellow Tony winner Rachel Bay Jones, composers Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, and album producers Alex Lacamoire and Stacey Mindich. With their win, Pasek and Paul have won an Oscar, Tony, and Grammy in less than a year.

While the win was announced during the Grammys’ Premiere Ceremony (where a majority of the awards are presented prior to the CBS telecast), Platt will take the stage during the primetime broadcast for a performance of West Side Story’s “Somewhere.” Joining him is Patti LuPone, who will sing the Evita anthem “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina.” The inclusion of Broadway celebrates the Grammys’ return to New York for the first time since 2003.

Click here for the full article published on by Ryan McPhee on January 28, 2018.