Stage Writes

The Official Stage Rights Blog

3 Promising Musical Theater Writers Receive $100,000 Prizes

In his will, Edward Kleban, the Tony Award-winning lyricist of A Chorus Line, made provisions to underwrite two cash prizes for musical theater writers whose work shows great potential: one to a lyricist and one to a librettist.

This year, however, there are three winners of the Kleban Prize, each of whom will receive $100,000, payable over two years.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Ricky Falbo, left, and Autumn Ness in 'Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Musical.' Alan Schmuckler, a winner of the Kleban Prize, co-wrote its music and lyrics.

Alan Schmuckler and Amanda Yesnowitz were given the lyricist prize, while Christian Duhamel is the recipient of this year’s librettist award.

Mr. Schmuckler wrote, along with Michael Mahler, the music and lyrics of Diary of Wimpy Kid: The Musical, which premiered at the Children’s Theater Company in Minneapolis in 2016. Ms. Yesnowitz wrote the lyrics for Somewhere in Time, a 2013 musical adaptation of the 1980 film starring Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour. She is currently working on a musical inspired by the life of Margaret Bulkley, an Irish woman who lived as a man in the 19th century.

Click here for the full article published on by Peter Libbey on January 8, 2018.